

Exceptional Service Awards

Past Award Winners



James C. Richards Memorial Award

- 2023 Carol MacInnes, Councilor, Fossil
- 2022 Pete Truax, Mayor, Forest Grove
- 2020 Brad Nanke, Councilor, Salem
- 2019 Cathy Clark, Mayor, Keizer
- 2018 John Cook, Mayor Tigard
- 2018 Loran Wiese, Councilor, Coquille
- 2016 Jerry Willey, Mayor, Hillsboro
- 2014 John McArdle, Mayor, Independence
- 2012 Phillip Houk, Mayor, Pendleton Gary Williams, Mayor, Cottage Grove
- 2011 George Endicott, Mayor, Redmond
- 2010 Shirley Kalkhoven, Mayor, Nehalem
- 2008 Rob Drake, Mayor, Beaverton Tom Hughes, Mayor, Hillsboro
- 2007 Jim Fairchild, Mayor, Dallas
- 2005 Helen Berg, Mayor, Corvallis Bob McPheeters, Mayor, Tillamook
- 2004 Nancy Nathanson, Councilor, Eugene
- 2003 Lou Ogden, Mayor, Tualatin
- 2002 Chris Lassen, Councilor, Gresham
- 2000 Gwen VanDenBosch, Mayor, Dallas
- 1999 Michael Jordan, City Manager, Canby
- 1998 Bill Morrisette, Mayor, Springfield
- 1997 Di Lyn Larsen-Hill, Mayor Pro Tem, La Grande
- 1996 Mike Lindberg, Commissioner,
- 1995 Marion Rossi, Mayor, Independence
- 1994 Charles Vars, Mayor, Corvallis
- 1993 Shirley Huffman, Mayor, Hillsboro
- 1992 Candace Bartow, Mayor, Grants Pass Joe McLaughlin, Mayor, Pendleton
- 1991 Elvern Hall, Mayor, Newberg
- 1990 Forrest Soth, Councilor, Beaverton Emily Schue, Councilor, Eugene
- 1989 Gerald "Lou" Hannum, Councilor, Medford
- 1988 Jean Young, Mayor, King City
- 1987 Alan Berg, Mayor, Corvallis Ron Bryant, City Attorney, Sisters & Metolius
- 1986 Eldon Mills, City Manager, Hillsboro
- 1984 Jack Nelson, Mayor, Beaverton Art Johnson, City Manager, Bend
- 1983 Dale Curry, City Manager, Astoria
- 1981 Lawrence Gray, Mayor, Hermiston

Herman Kehrli Award

- 2023 Barbara Chestler, City Recorder, Siletz Henry Reimann, Police Chief, Forest Grove Scott Derickson, City Administrator, Woodburn
- 2022 Mark Reagles, City Administrator, Rogue River
 - Peggy Hawker, City Recorder, Newport
- 2020 Michael Sykes, Retired City Manager, Scappoose
- 2019 Gary Milliman, Former City Manager, Brookings
- 2018 Glenn Klein, Retired City Attorney, Eugene
- 2018 Jennie Messmer, Former LOC Member Services Director
- 2017 Jason Tuck, City Manager, Happy Valley
- 2016 Jerry Taylor, City Manager, Manzanita
- 2015 Leahnette Rivers, City Administrator, Columbia City
- 2014 Matt Winkel, City Manager, Bandon
- 2013 Erik Kvarsten, City Manager, Gresham Randy Kugler, City Manager, Philomath
- 2012 Mary Beth Henry, Broadband Plan Manager, Portland
- 2011 Michael McKillip, City Engineer, Tualatin
- 2010 Ric Ingham, City Manager, Veneta Gordon Zimmerman, City Administrator, Oakridge
- 2009 Dan Bartlett, Retired City Manager
- 2008 David Hawker, City Manager, Lincoln City
- 2007 Sam Sasaki, City Manager, Willamina and Gervais
- 2006 Elise Smurzynski, City Administrator, Shady Cove Mike Swanson, City Manager, Milwaukie
- 2005 Ed Brookshier, City Manager, Hermiston
- 2004 Jo Anne Sutherland, Retired City Manager, Redmond Dick Townsend, OCCMA Range Rider; former LOC Director
- 2003 Steve Bryant, City Manager, Albany Tim Erwert, City Manager, Hillsboro
- 2002 Jon Nelson, City Manager, Corvallis Larry Lehman, City Manager, Pendleton
- 2001 Wes Hare, City Manager, La Grande
- 2000 Kent Taylor, City Manager, McMinnville
- 1999 Charlie Henry, City Manager, Eugene; OCCMA Range Rider
- 1998 Mike Kelly, City Manager, Springfield
- 1997 Stan Kenyon, City Manager, Monmouth
- 1996 Roger Jordan, City Manager, Dallas
- 1995 Steve Rhodes, City Manager, Tualatin
- 1994 Jim Watson, City Manager, Coos Bay
- 1993 Brian Almquist, City Administrator, Ashland
- 1990 Don Davis, City Manager, Newport
- 1989 William Juza, City Attorney, Salem

Mark O. Hatfield Statesmanship Award

- 2022 George Endicott, Mayor, Redmond
- 2017 Phillip Houk, former Pendleton mayor
- 2015 Shirley Kalkhoven, former Nehalem mayor
- 2013 Betsy Johnson, Oregon Senator
- 2011 Greg Walden, U.S. Congress
- 2010 Ray Naff, Intergovernmental Relations & ERT Director, Governor's Office
- 2007 Brady Adams, former Oregon Senator
- 2001 Cliff Trow, Oregon Senator
- 1997 Neil Goldschmidt, former Oregon governor
- 1996 Mark Hatfield, U.S. Senator

Civic Education Award

- 2023 Stephani Hern, Parks & Recreation Supervisor/
 Community Involvement Specialist, Happy Valley
 - Steve Campbell, , Community Services and Public Safety Director, Happy Valley
- 2020 Dr. Phil Cooper, Professor, Portland State University
- 2019 Mark Koeppe, Officer, Philomath Police Dept.
- 2019 Beth Wytoski, Mayor, Dayton
- 2014 Lisia Farley, West Linn-Wilsonville School District
- 2013 Sixth Grade Teachers from Newberg
- 2011 Todd Jones, Teacher, West Linn High School
- 2010 Mike Clarke, Mayor, Molalla
- 2003 Raphael ("Stubby") Lyons, Seaside City Councilor and retired school teacher
- 2002 John Gaskill, Ontario City Councilor and school teacher
- 1999 Mike Crocker, Philomath City Councilor and high school teacher
 - Deborah Howe and Terri Cook, elementary school teachers, Milwaukie